top of page
Writer's pictureCallum Alexander

Why I prefer driving cars to using public transport

There are pros and cons for both, but circumstance and preference decides my quandary between the two

 


It’s not often that I use public transport. This is due to several reasons that range from geographic location to personal choice. I reside in the countryside in a village called Barningham, therefore transport links are infrequent and don’t service my needs adequately enough to depend on them for travel. A point usurping that however is my preference of driving, the independence a car provides me cannot be replicated by other forms of commuting, it just doesn’t fit with my lifestyle.

The practical aspect is a deterrent in itself. With a car, you can just walk out of your house and get in. Whereas with public transport, when you leave your house, you have to undertake a preliminary journey to embark on the main one. This takes up time that could be spent doing something more productive. Then there’s the waiting around for the bus or train to turn up, and even if you know the pickup time, that’s still time that could be spent doing something else more worthwhile.


Whereas, the autonomy of a car provides liberty that you can control. You don’t have to wait to pick up other passengers, and travel routes that have no relevance to your destination. The tedium of travelling is removed, which makes it more direct. Furthermore, I like driving, it’s an interactive and engaging experience that’s satisfying, and you can’t obtain that sort of sensation commuting via bus or train. That makes the experience boring and something to endure.


Nevertheless, I’m not someone who lambasts public transport because it’s not my chosen method of commuting. There are some occasions when using such services have some helpful conveniences that a car can’t offer. Although, the caveat with the exceptions is that they are very much conditional on time and place, not to mention socio-economics. I happen to use it when I travel to London, most often to watch an Arsenal game, music concert or theatre show.


In these instances, the London Underground is usually the most convenient method of commuting through the sprawling metropolis. This is because parking spaces in the city aren’t always the most accessible for the events I tend to attend. It also simplifies your itinerary as you avoid extortionate costs to park your car, as well as the congestion zone charges. It’s swings and roundabouts when you weigh up the pros and cons, but the tube typically ends up suiting arrangements better.


"I’m not claustrophobic, but I do like my personal space, so this sort of encroachment is something I dislike"


When the London Underground is the optimum option, I use the Redbridge station on the outskirts of the city. After parking my car, I enter the station, touch my contactless card on a payment pad and walk down the steps onto the platforms. This in itself is mostly hassle free. However, the aspect that puts me off from the outset is the condition of the station, which is old and dirty. It’s not the most inviting environment to spend time in, but it’s reality for many people.


This rough and tough urban setting pales in comparison to the interior of my car. Admittedly, the Vauxhall Corsa SXI that I drive is decent if you were being diplomatic, and crap if you were being frank. But it’s in good condition, which makes it more comforting to commute in. Of course, there are political considerations to take into account here such as funding cuts to Transport for London, which has compromised the service that the London Underground provides.


You have the Conservatives to thank for that. Nevertheless, even with this in mind, my car is the more appealing prospect in my eyes. The most frequent route I take on the tube is to the Emirates stadium to watch an Arsenal match. I have done it so often that I know it like the back of my hand. Take the central line from Redbridge to Holborn, then take the Piccadilly line from Holborn to Arsenal. It sounds straightforward, but there’s more to it than that.


The actual experience of travelling on the underground is a novelty if like me you’re not a regular user, but that difference doesn’t mean it’s much fun. For me, the tube is a means to an end, and something I endure rather than enjoy. As is the case with most public transport, your schedule is defined by the service schedule. As a result, you spend time waiting around for your transportation. When it does arrive, and you get on board, there is the scramble to try and grab a seat.


If you do, your journey is considerably more comfortable than not getting one, as otherwise you have to stand up. This is okay when commuting off-peak times when there are less people, but during peak periods, the experience is exacerbated by huge numbers of passengers, which makes it much more unpleasant. In this scenario, you’re crammed together with everyone else, squished into a small space.


"the pivotal aspect that compels me to use cars over public transport is the interaction and engagement that you get from driving them"


I’m not claustrophobic, but I do like my personal space, so this sort of encroachment is something I dislike. Not only is this proximity too confined, but because there are lots of people in such a small space, the temperature increases, and that heat makes it even more unpalatable. Furthermore, this closeness is a sort of petri dish for passing on and catching illnesses, which I would rather avoid as I value my health and wellbeing. The final straw is standing near someone who smokes, as the repulsive habit is something I hate and don’t tolerate.


There are no such predicaments like that to put up with in a car. My Corsa SXI is a protective capsule, and I can drive to my destination directly without detours along the route. However, this doesn’t mean I advocate for the abolishment of public transport, I just choose not to use it for the combination of reasons of personal circumstance and preference. Moreover, public transport serves its purpose and has its place, as it does have considerable benefits that are favourable.


One fundamental factor is that the congestion on the road network in Britain would increase to an unsustainable level, and the current levels of congestion on public roads is already bad enough. So even more cars on the roads of Britain would make that situation even worse, which would cause significant problems, and most likely cause gridlocks as the road network wouldn’t be able to cope with the extra volume of traffic. This wouldn’t be tenable for anyone.


The other prohibiting factor is the increase in emissions from the additional cars. This is an entirely valid point, and although that relevance is still pertinent, it’s gradually becoming less significant. With the car industry transitioning towards electrification with the end of combustion engine sales in 2035 across the European Union and Brexit Britain, the turnover of cars powered by fossil fuels to more sustainable sources is only going to ramp up in the years to come. As a scuba diver with grave concerns for marine life, corals reefs and the ecology more broadly, it’s crucial that change happens urgently.


For me though, the pivotal aspect that compels me to use cars over public transport is the interaction and engagement that you get from driving them. This is an element that no matter the type of public transport, cannot be duplicated in any comparable way. Driving a car is a necessity to commute from A to B, but it’s also a personal expression of yourself, where enjoyment and fulfilment can be found. This source of contentment is something public transport just can’t match.

 

Photo: Porsche


0 comments

Comments


bottom of page